MAAD’s Chronology

1945Kansas City Men’s Basketball team invited to AAAD in Akron, Ohio.
1946MAAD organized in Kansas City, First President Calvin Niniger of Kansas City;

First Men’s Basketball Tournament;

Basketball Council formed; MAAD affiliated with the American Athletic Association of the Deaf (AAAD).
1949First National Basketball Championship – MAAD team Des Moines.
1957First Invitational Softball Tournament in Omaha.
1958Invitational Tournament in Sioux Falls;
Softball Council formed.
1959First Men’s Fast-Pitch Softball Tournament in Council Bluffs.
197025th Anniversary Basketball Tournament in Kansas City.
1975First Men’s Slo-Pitch Softball Tournament in MinnePaul.
1977MAAD incorporated in the State of Missouri.
1980First Women’s and Men’s Volleyball tournament in Council Bluffs;

First Women’s Slo-Pitch Invitational Tournament in St. Louis.
1981First Women’s Slo-Pitch Tournament in Des Moines.
198325th Anniversary Softball Tournament in Council Bluffs.
1988First Women’s Basketball Tournament in Olathe;
1989First National Softball Championship – MAAD Team MinnePaul.
1993MAAD affiliated with the National Softball Association of the Deaf (NSAD).
1994MAAD seceded from AAAD.
199550th Anniversary Basketball Tournament in Kansas City;

MAAD affiliated with American Basketball Association of the Deaf (ABAD).
1999MAAD William N Fraser Regional Basketball Tournament;

First Co-ed Slo-Pitch Tournament in MinnePaul.
2000MAAD affiliated with United States America Deaf Basketball (USADB);

MAAD John L Buckmaster Memorial Regional Softball Tournament.
2003MAAD William N Fraser Memorial Regional Basketball Tournament.
2008MAAD First Female President;

50th Annual Softball Tournament in Council Bluffs, IA
2009MAAD affiliated with National Deaf Basketball Organization (NDBO);

MAAD affiliated with United States Speciality Sports Association (USSSA);